Londontown, Kidney Stones… and Tornadoes…

This has been a wild couple of weeks.  Last week, we were out several days for snow (Didn’t mind that at all!!)… then we decided to take a last-minute drive to Nashville after church on Sunday.  We visited with Haley and Jake (so fun) and got to see the new area of Nashville theyr’e moving to.  So happy for them.  We drove back on Monday (which we had off from school), and since Tuesday, it’s been a whirlwind!  Being behind from school days, everything has been crammed in this week at school, and it’s seemed to go by fast and slow at the same time.

Yesterday was Lucas’ sister’s birthday, and we were all planning to go to Chattanooga for her birthday dinner, but not long before leaving, Lucas called me saying he had a pain again that felt like when he had a kidney stone (which was about 6 years ago, not long after we were first married).  He sounded okay, and I thought maybe I’d go to the dinner while he rested, but then he called back in excruciating pain (I’ve never had a kidney stone, but I remember what it was like the last time he had one, and it sincerely breaks my heart to pieces).  I hate to see him in so much pain.  He asked me not to bring Lenny home, so he wouldn’t see him so sick and hurting so bad.  It really tore me up.  Heidi, who was in town, was so helpful in giving tips on what could help ease the pain, and it really did take off the edge for him and get him to a state of not being completely miserable and laying on the floor groaning in pain.  (Thanks, Heidi for your help!!!)  I don’t ever bad-talk people here… it’s not my style, honestly… but I will say I was hurt the Pharmacist didn’t even barely look up when his assistant was talking to him about my question… and acted like he really couldn’t help at all (and wasn’t interested in helping).  When your loved one is crying out in pain, all you can think of is how you can help to make this pain go away fast, and when people seem not to care, it saddens me deeply.  Please remember these people are someone’s son/daughter, sister/brother, friend… and so on…  I pray he is more caring in his profession.  Maybe he was having a bad day… but we need to remember that we should always show love no matter how we feel.  I remind myself of that, too.

Lucas is feeling better today.  He was weak and aching this morning, but nothing NEAR as bad as last night.  Please keep him in your prayers, though… as this is not an easy thing to endure.

On top of this, last night we had tornadoes in the area…  I was so scared I slept at my parents’ house.  Dad was driving back from Lousiana area and on the tail end of this big storm (squall line) that extended across several states.  He could feel the wind on his end, and I could feel it starting to come on my end!  Boy was I terrified.  Praise God everyone was okay and no tornadoes hit Cleveland!

On a different note, I looked back at some images from England.  I already ache for it again.  I had the best time with my Dad and Mom there.  A trip I’ll never forget and always smile about.  Here are some sweet memories from Londontown.  Have a great weekend, friends!!!

londonsite motion

Leave a Reply

