Freezing and Dreaming of Spring…

This is January.  As of late, it has been bitterly, and I mean BITTERLY cold.  We’ve had temperatures drop down to single digits and wind chills below zero.  That’s pretty unheard of for these parts.  A couple of weeks ago it was so bitterly cold, that when it rose back into the lower 40s, I thought I was in Heaven!  It gets cold here, but not THAT cold.  Then, days like yesterday, it’s in the 50s and feeling great… and what happens today… drops back down to a low in the teens.  That’s Cleveland for ya.  😉

I’ve been so negligent in my blogging lately.  I feel that my life has not slowed down since… August?  Christmas was wonderful.  New Year’s was wonderful.  Then, back to school, shooting, editing, shipping, parenting… my usual drills.  I have so many wonderful things in my life, but I just wish I could manage them better.  Because Lucas is still in school, I’m taking on more work, so life has been one big blur.  There are times I struggle, and I purposely keep (and have kept for a while) my favorite book on my night stand, Battlefield of the Mind, by one of my very favorite people, Joyce Meyer.  This book is like a mental guide to life.  She teaches us to think about what we’re thinking about.  She talks about her own struggles in life and how God brought her through such despairing times to where she is today.  She wants us to also live a victorious life, and she shares how God has brought her to this point.  It’s an amazing book.  It’s something I think EVERYONE should read.

Yesterday, I met up with Hailey Johnston, who is starting a new project (non-profit) for women called Project Free 2 Fly.  They’re creating a whole new website and preparing to offer handmade items, that are SOOOOO cute.  I was excited when Hailey asked me to be their photographer and be involved with the project from the beginning.  I love helping ministries.  (My number one ministry I live to support is Doyle Dykes Ministries, my Dad, who travels around the world sharing the Lord through his amazing guitar-playing.)

Project Free 2 Fly is looking to launch their site mid-February.  We shot some promo images downtown Cleveland yesterday, and I can’t wait until I can share more about this amazing ministry that’s starting.  Here’s an image of Lenny and Kate from yesterday’s shoot.  Hailey was awesome in getting Lenny to cooperate, because as you all know, the photographer’s kid is always the hardest to photograph (lol).  I’ll be sharing more in the coming weeks!  🙂

received_m_mid_1390783860303_e3698bd5bb07889834_0

I hope each and every one of you are doing well and off to a great start for the new year.  Please leave a comment and let me know how you’ve been!

Leave a Reply

